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CHAPTER 4:
DRIVING RECORD INFORMATION

This chapter provides important information about your driving record. PennDOT maintains a driving record
for every licensed driver in Pennsylvania. The Bureau of Driver Licensing keeps reports on various offenses
and convictions on every driver received from the police and courts. You can obtain a copy of your driving
record on our website at www.dmv.state.pa.us. You will need your driver’s license number, date of birth, last
four digits of your Social Security number and your credit card information.

THE PENNSYLVANIA POINT SYSTEM

The purpose of the point system is to help to improve driving habits and to ensure safe driving. Points are added
to a driving record, when a driver is found guilty of certain driving violations. PennDOT begins to take corrective
action when a driving record reaches six (6) or more points.

When a driving record reaches six (6) or more points for the first time, the driver will receive a written notice to take
a written special point examination. When the driving record is reduced below six (6) points and reaches six (6) or
more points for a second time, the driver will have to attend a Departmental hearing. Further accumulations of
six (6) or more points will result in additional Departmental hearings and/or suspensions of your driving privilege.

In addition to these requirements, the driving privilege of a person under the age of 18 will be suspended
if that person accumulates six (6) or more points or is convicted of driving 26 mph or more over the posted
speed limit. The first suspension will be for a period of 90 days. Any additional occurrences will result in
a suspension of 120 days.

A table showing the number of points given for specific traffic violations can be found at www.dmv.state.pa.us, in
“The Pennsylvania Point System” fact sheet.

POINT REMOVAL FOR SAFE DRIVING

Three (3) points are removed from a driving record for every 12 consecutive months in which a person is not under
suspension or revocation or has not committed any violation, which results in the assignment of points or the
suspension or revocation of the driving privilege. Once a driving record is reduced to zero and remains at zero
points for 12 consecutive months, any further accumulation of points is treated as the first accumulation of points.

SUSPENSIONS AND REVOCATIONS

Your driving privilege will be suspended or revoked, if you are convicted of any one of the following
traffic violations (this is only a partial listing):

+ Operating a vehicle while under + Driving without lights to avoid identification.

the influence of drugs or alcohol. + Failure to stop when you are driving a vehicle involved

+ Felony involving a vehicle. in a crash (hit-and-run offense).

+ Homicide by vehicle. + Second or any additional offense of driving

. Reckless driving. without a valid driver’s license within a 5-year period.

. Racing on highwavs + Failure to stop for a school bus with its red lights

9 9 ys: flashing and stop arm extended (60-day suspension).
* Fleeing from a police officer. + Failure to comply with a railroad crossing gate or
+ Driving when your driver’s license is already barrier (30-day suspension).

suspended or revoked.

If your driving privilege is going to be suspended or revoked, a written notice will be mailed to you listing the date
when the suspension/revocation will begin. Your driver's license and/or learner’s permit must be returned to the
Bureau of Driver Licensing by the effective date of suspension listed on the notice, or the state police and local
police will be notified to pick up the driver’s license.
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No credit toward serving the suspension or revocation shall be earned until the driver's license/learner’s permit is
surrendered to PennDOT. In the case of an unlicensed driver, an Acknowledgement of Suspension/Revocation
(Form DL-16LC) or an affidavit acknowledging the sanction must be surrendered to PennDOT in lieu of a driver's
license/learner’s permit. You may appeal the suspension/revocation in the Court of Common Pleas (Civil Division)
in your county of residence. The appeal must be filed within 30 days of the mailing date of the Department’s notice.
In addition to serving the suspension or revocation, proof of payment for any fines and costs owed, proof of
insurance (financial responsibility), and a restoration fee must be paid before your driving privilege will be restored.

After your driving privilege is restored, your driving record will show five (5) points, regardless of the number
of points that appeared on your record before your driving privilege was suspended, except in the cases of:

+ Underage drinking.
+ A 15-day suspension resulting from a hearing for the second accumulation of six (6) points.

+ Suspension for failing to respond to a citation.

DRIVING WITHOUT INSURANCE
+ According to Pennsylvania state law, you must maintain automobile liability insurance on your registered
vehicle at all times.

+ If PennDOT finds your vehicle was not covered by insurance for a period of 31 days or longer, your registration
will be suspended for three (3) months. In addition, if you operated or permitted the operation of your vehicle
without insurance, your driving privilege will also be suspended for a period of three (3) months.

+ In order to have your driving privilege and registration restored, you must submit the following:
4 Proof your vehicle is currently insured.

4+ The required restoration fees.

WHAT TO DO IF YOU ARE STOPPED BY THE POLICE

You will know a police officer wants you to pull over when he or she activates the flashing red and blue lights on top of
the police vehicle. In some instances, an unmarked police vehicle may be equipped with a flashing red light only.

For your safety and the safety of others, police recommend you do the following

+ Activate your turn signal and drive as close as + Keep your seat belt fastened until the officer has
safely possible to the right edge of the road, stop, seen you are appropriately restrained.

and park your vehicle safely away from traffic. + Wait until the officer asks you to retrieve your

+ Turn on your vehicle’s interior light as soon as you

stop and before the officer approaches, if it is
nighttime.

Limit your movements and the movements of your
passengers - do not reach for anything in the vehicle.

Alert the officer immediately, if you are transporting any
type of firearm.

Place your hands on the steering wheel, and ask any
passengers to have their hands in view.

Keep your vehicle doors closed as the officer
approaches, and stay inside your vehicle, unless
the officer asks you to get out.

driver’s license, registration and insurance cards.
Do not hand the officer your wallet - just the
requested items.

Always be polite. The officer will tell you what you
did wrong. You may receive only a warning or you
may be cited for a traffic violation. If you disagree
with the citation, you are entitled to a court hearing
where you can present your arguments. It is not
in your best interest to argue with the officer at
the scene. If you believe you have not been treated
in a professional manner, you should contact the
appropriate police department at a time following
the traffic stop, and ask for a supervisor.
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Remember, police lights can be red and blue, or could be red only on unmarked police vehicles. You may also see
flashing white lights used in addition to these lights. If the vehicle is flashing only blue lights, then it is not a
police officer. If you see flashing red and blue lights or flashing red lights only and you are still not certain the
person pulling you over is actually a police officer, you may drive to the nearest well-lit, populated area, but
acknowledge you understand the request to stop by turning on your flashers and driving at a reduced speed. You
may ask the officer for identification, and should do so if the individual who has stopped you is not in uniform or
has an unmarked vehicle. Most officers in unmarked vehicles are wearing police uniforms, and police officers
always possess a photo ID card and a badge.

CRASHES

Do not stop at a crash unless you are involved or if emergency help has not yet arrived. Keep your attention on
your driving and keep moving, watching for people who might be on or near the road. Do not block the way for
police, firefighters, ambulances, tow trucks and other rescue vehicles.

If you are in a crash, you should do the following:

1. Stop your vehicle at or near the crash scene. If you can, move your vehicle off of the road so you do not block
traffic. Many crashes are caused when traffic stops or slows for an initial crash.

2. Call the police, if anyone is hurt or dies. If the drivers of the vehicles are hurt and cannot call the police, then
witnesses at or near the crash scene must call for help.

3. Call the police, if any vehicle needs to be towed.

4. Get the information listed below from the other driver(s) involved in the crash:
» Names and addresses » Telephone numbers
* Registration numbers * Insurance company names and policy numbers

5. Get the names and addresses of other individuals involved in the crash and any witnesses of the crash.

6. If the crash involves a parked vehicle or damage to property, stop immediately, and try to find the owner. If you
cannot find the owner, leave a note in a place where it can be seen and call the police. The note should include
the date and time of the crash, your name and a telephone number where you can be reached.

7. If the police do not investigate a crash and someone has died
or been injured, or if a vehicle must be towed, send a Please note:
Driver's Accident Report Form (AA-600) within five (5) days to: To obtain a Driver’s Accident
PA Department of Transportation Report Form (AA-600), visit our

Bureau of Highway Safety & Traffic Engineering website at Wwvudmv.state.pa.uts,
P.O. Box 2047 or contact your local or state police.

Harrisburg, PA 17105-2047

FLEEING OR ELUDING POLICE

Each year, there are about 450 crashes caused when a driver attempts to flee or elude police, resulting in 40 to 50
major injuries or fatalities on Pennsylvania roadways.

If a driver is convicted of fleeing or attempting to elude police, the penalty is a one-year suspension of the driving
privilege, a fine of $500, plus court costs and other fees, and could include time in jail.
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DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL OR A CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE

WHAT CONSTITUTES A DUI (DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE)?

The penalties for driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs are severe. In Pennsylvania, if you are of
legal drinking age (21 or older), you are considered to be driving "while under the influence" if your blood alcohol
level is .08 or higher. But, you also may be convicted of DUI at lower BAC levels, if you are stopped by police for
driving erratically (too slow, too fast, straddling your lane, making wide turns, stopping for no reason, failing to obey
traffic signs and signals, etc.).

If you are under age 21, Pennsylvania's laws do not permit you to drive with any measurable alcohol
in your system. If you are under 21, you are considered to be driving under the influence if your
blood alcohol level is .02 or greater.

PENNSYLVANIA'S IMPLIED CONSENT LAW (CHEMICAL TESTING FOR ALCOHOL OR DRUGS)

The Implied Consent law is very important to you as a driver. The law covering chemical testing says you have
agreed to take such a test — just by being licensed to drive in Pennsylvania. If the police arrest you for driving while
under the influence of alcohol or drugs and you refuse to take one (1) or more chemical tests of breath, blood or
urine, your driving privilege will be automatically suspended for one (1) year. This suspension is in addition to the
suspension imposed for a conviction or Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) for driving while under the
influence.

Even if you are found not guilty of driving while under the influence, your driving privilege will be suspended for
one (1) year for a first-time refusal to take a blood, breath or urine test. If you refuse to take a test and you are
found guilty of DUI, your driving privilege may be suspended for two and a half (2 1/2) years, depending on your
BAC level at the time of the arrest. If you refuse chemical testing and have had a prior DUI conviction or a prior
refusal for chemical testing, you will face an 18-month suspension for the refusal, plus 18 more months for the DUI
conviction, for a total suspension of three (3) years.

SEVERE PENALTIES
The penalties become more severe for these three (3) things: the higher your blood alcohol concentration, the more
serious the injuries and damages resulting from a crash while driving under the influence, and the more times you
are convicted for DUI.

The following three (3) tables summarize the penalties for driving under the influence at different levels of
impairment. In addition to the penalties listed in these tables, alcohol highway safety school will be required for first
or second offenses at any level of impairment. For second and third offenses at any level of impairment, you will
be required to have an ignition interlock system (dashboard breath tester) installed in your vehicle for one (1) year.
You may also be required to undergo alcohol-abuse screening and treatment at any level of impairment for first and
subsequent offenses, if deemed necessary by the courts, and a judge may impose up to 150 hours of community
service.

If you are under 21 years of age and you are convicted of driving under the influence (your BAC is .02 or
higher), you will be subject to the penalties listed in Table 2, “High Rate,” even if your BAC is less than
the levels specified for those penalties.

If you are involved in a crash resulting in bodily injury, death or property damage, you are subject to the
penalties listed in Table 2, “High Rate,” rather than those listed in Table 1, “General Impairment,” even if
your BAC is lower than the levels listed in Table 2, “High Rate.”

Anyone who drives under the influence of controlled substances and drivers who refuse a chemical test
are subject to the penalties listed in Table 3, “Highest Rate.”

TABLE 1 - GENERAL IMPAIRMENT: .08 TO .099 BLOOD ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION
(Note: These penalties apply to drivers of legal drinking age.)

Penalty First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

Sentence 6 months probation 5 days to 6 months in prison 10 days to 2 years in prison
Fine $300 $300 - $2,500 $500 - $5,000

License No action 12-month suspension 12-month suspension
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TABLE 2 - HIGH RATE: .10 TO .159 BLOOD ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION
(Note: This table also applies to drivers under age 21 with a BAC of .02 or more; commercial vehicle drivers with
a BAC of .04 or more; school bus drivers with a BAC of .02 or more; and drivers with BAC of .08 to .099 and who
are involved in a crash resulting in serious bodily injury, death or vehicle or property damage.)

Penalty First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

Sentence 2 days to 6 months in prison | 30 days to 6 months in prison 90 days to 5 years in prison
Fine $500 - $5,000 $750 - $5,000 $1,500 - $10,000

License 12-month suspension 12-month suspension 18-month suspension

(occupational limited
license after 60-day
suspension)

TABLE 3 - HIGHEST RATE: .16 BLOOD ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION AND UP
(Note: This table also applies to drivers who refuse chemical testing at any BAC level and drivers convicted of
driving under the influence of Schedule I, 1l or Il substances that are not medically prescribed, a combination
of another drug and alcohol or substances such as inhalants.)

Penalty First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

Sentence 3 days to 6 months in prison | 90 days to 5 years in prison 1 year to 5 years in prison
Fine $1,000 - $5,000 $1,500 $2,500 minimum

License 12-month suspension 18-month suspension 18-month suspension

(occupational limited
license after 60-day
suspension)

If your penalty includes a maximum probation or prison time of six (6) months (you are a first-time offender at any
level or a second-time offender in the “General Impairment” or “High Rate”), your DUI crime has been charged
as an ungraded misdemeanor. The charge of ungraded misdemeanor means if you contest the case, you are not
entitled to a jury trial.

For a first offense at the high and highest rates of impairment, you may be accepted into the Accelerated
Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) program.

If you are accepted into the ARD program you will:

+ Lose your license for up to 90 days for ARD. + Undergo alcohol and drug evaluation.
« Remain under court supervision for six (6) + Undergo alcohol and drug rehabilitation
months. treatment, if necessary.

+ Participate in 12 1/2 hours of Alcohol Highway

+ Pay a fine of between $300 and $5,000 in Safety School.

addition to related fees and other costs.

ZERO TOLERANCE LAW (UNDER 21 DUI)
The Zero Tolerance law establishes serious consequences for those under 21, who drive with any measurable
amount of alcohol in their blood. The law reduced the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) from .08 to .02 for minors (under
21) charged with Driving Under the Influence.

WHY ZERO TOLERANCE?
Traffic crashes are the number one (1) cause of death for teenagers in the United States.

Driving involves multiple tasks, the demands of which change continually. To drive safely, you must be alert, make
decisions based on ever-changing information present in the environment and be able to maneuver based on these
decisions. Drinking alcohol impairs a wide range of skills necessary for carrying out these tasks.

If you are under 21 and are convicted of DUI for the first time, you will go to jail for a term ranging from two (2)
days to six (6) months, your license will be suspended for a full year, and you will pay a fine of $500 to $5,000.
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UNDERAGE DRINKING

If you are under age 21, it is against the law to buy alcohol, consume alcohol, have alcohol in your possession or
have alcohol in the vehicle you are driving. Even if you are not driving, your driving privilege will be suspended if
you are under 21 years of age and are convicted of lying about your age to obtain alcohol, carrying a false ID card,
or purchasing, consuming, possessing or transporting alcohol. In addition, if you are underage and are arrested
and detained for blood, breath and/or urine testing, parental consent to conduct these tests is not required, but the
police will notify your parents of the arrest.

The minimum penalties for underage drinking are as follows:
« Afine of up to $500 plus court costs.
+ A 90-day suspension for the first offense.

+ Aone (1) year suspension for the second offense.

+ Atwo (2) year suspension for the third and subsequent offenses.

The courts may require you to be evaluated to determine the extent of your involvement with alcohol and may also
require you to successfully complete a program of alcohol education, intervention or counseling.

If you do not have a driver's license, you will be ineligible to apply for a learner's permit for the time period of the
suspension. If you are under 16 years of age, your suspension will not begin until your 16th birthday, provided you
acknowledge your suspension, and it is received any time prior to your 16th birthday.

In addition to serving a suspension, a restoration fee must be paid before your driver’s license will be returned or
your application for a Non-Commercial Learner's Permit (DL-180) considered for processing.

ONE FACT REMAINS: It is against the law for anyone under age 21 to consume, possess or transport
alcohol. Again, remember, if you are cited for underage drinking, a vehicle
does not have to be involved for you to lose your driving privilege.

DO NOT risk the consequences.

Adults, even parents, who are convicted of knowingly and intentionally supplying minors with alcohol are subject
to a fine of at least $1,000 for the first offense and $2,500 for each additional offense and face up to one year in
jail. Adults are even liable for guests who drink in their homes. If, for example, you had 17 teenagers in your home
for a party and they were drinking alcohol, the party could cost you $41,000. That's $1,000 for the first teenage
drinker and $2,500 for each of the other 16 drinkers.

DRIVER’S LICENSE COMPACT (DLC)

The DLC is a compact among member states and the District of Columbia to maximize law enforcement efforts
nationwide. The major provisions of the DLC, which member states are committed to uphold and enforce, are:

+ The "one driver’s license" concept, which requires the surrender of an out-of-state driver's license when
application for a driver’s license in another state is made.

+ The "one driver record" concept, which requires that a complete driver record be maintained in the driver's state
of residence to determine driving eligibility in the home state, as well as for his or her non-resident operator’s
privilege in other jurisdictions.

+ Reporting of all traffic convictions and driver’s license suspensions/revocations of out-of-state drivers to the
home state licensing agency, as well as other appropriate information.

+ The assurance of uniform and predictable treatment of drivers by treating offenses committed in other states as
though they have been committed in the home state.
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The following offenses, if committed in a member state, would be treated as though the offense had occurred in
Pennsylvania, and the appropriate sanction would be imposed under the provisions of our Vehicle Code:

+ Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a vehicle (Section 3732).

+ Driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or a narcotic to a degree rendering the driver
incapable of safely driving a vehicle (Section 3802).

+ Failure to stop and render aid in the event of a vehicle accident resulting in the death or personal injury of another
(Section 3742).

+ Any felony in the commission of which a vehicle is used (Crimes Code and Dangerous Drug Act Offenses).

Not responding to an out-of-state citation will result in the indefinite suspension of your Pennsylvania driving
privilege until a response is made to the location indicated on the citation.
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CHAPTER 4 REVIEW QUESTIONS

1. THE MINIMUM DRINKING AGE IN THIS STATEIS __ YEARS.
A9
B. 20
C. 21
D. 18

2. PEOPLE UNDER 16 YEARS OF AGE WHO USE A FALSE IDENTIFICATION CARD TO BUY
ALCOHOL WILL:

Receive a driving suspension that starts on their 16th birthday

Not be able to take the driver’s exam until their 21st birthday

Receive a driving suspension that starts on their 21st birthday

Be sent to an alcohol safety education class

oowy

3. IF APERSON UNDER 21 YEARS OLD CONSUMES ALCOHOL, BUT IS NOT DRIVING A MOTOR
VEHICLE, THE PENALTY FOR A FIRST OFFENSE IS:

A 90-day driver license suspension and up to a $500 fine

A 6-month probation

Sentence to a corrections institution

Points on the driving record

oowy

4. PARENTAL CONSENT TO CONDUCT BREATH, BLOOD, AND URINE TESTS IS:
Not required

Required from only one parent

Required for people under 16 years old

Required from both parents

oowy

5. IT IS AGAINST THE LAW FOR ANYONE UNDER THE AGE OF 21 TO ALCOHOL.
A. Wear clothing advertising
B. Be in the presence of
C. Consume
D. Serve

6. IT IS AGAINST THE LAW FOR ANYONE UNDER THE AGE OF 21 TO ALCOHOL.
A. Wear clothing advertising
B. Possess
C. Serve
D. Be in the presence of

7. IT IS AGAINST THE LAW FOR ANYONE UNDER THE AGE OF 21 TO ALCOHOL.
A. Serve
B. Wear clothing advertising
C. Be in the presence of
D. Transport

8. ONE OF THE PENALTIES FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL IS A(N):
5 — year driver’s license suspension

$100.00 fine

Attendance to Alcohol Highway Safety School

12 — hour sentence in jail

oOow>
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9. IF YOU ARE ARRESTED FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL AND YOU REFUSE
TO TAKE THE BLOOD TEST, YOU WILL RECIEVE A:
A. Drug counseling treatment
B. Sentence of one day in jail
C. Driver’s License Suspension
D. $300.00 fine
10. IF A POLICE OFFICER REQUIRES YOU TO TAKE A BLOOD, BREATH, OR URINE TEST, YOU:
A. May choose the test you prefer
B. Must sign a consent form
C. May refuse if underage
D. Must take the test, or your license will be suspended
11. FOR A FIRST CONVICTION FOR DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE AT ANY BLOOD ALCOHOL
CONCENTRATION LEVEL, YOU COULD:
A. Lose your license for up to 5 years
B. Be required to conduct a public education class on the dangers of drunk driving
C. Be required to drive with a restricted occupational license
D. Pay a fine of at least $300
12. IF UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE YOU ARE CONSIDERED TO BE DRIVING WHILE UNDER THE
INFLUENCE IF YOUR BLOOD ALCOHOL LEVEL IS:
A. .08% or higher
B. .10% or higher
C. .05% or higher
D. .02% or higher
13. IF YOU ARE UNDER AGE 21 AND ARE CONVICTED OF DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF
ALCOHOL, YOU WILL RECEIVE A ____ LICENSE SUSPENSION FOR A FIRST OFFENSE.
A. 60-Day
B. 30-Day
C. 6-Month
D. 1-Year
14. IF YOU ARE UNDER AGE 21, AND ARE CONVICTED OF CARRYING A FALSE ID CARD, YOU WILL
BE REQUIRED TO PAY A $500 FINE AND YOUR LICENSE WILL BE SUSPENDED FOR 90 DAYS.
A. Only if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .02% or higher
B. Even if you were not driving
C. Only if you were driving at the time of arrest
D. Only if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .02% or higher and you were driving at the time of arrest
15. THE ZERO TOLERANCE LAW REDUCED THE BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT (BAC) FROM .08%
TO___ FOR DRIVERS UNDER 21 TO BE CHARGED WITH DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE.
A. .02%
B. .05%
C. .07%
D. .00%
16. IF YOU ARE STOPPED BY A POLICE OFFICER, YOU SHOULD:

A. Unbuckle your seat belt and lower your window

B. Get your paperwork ready before the officer reaches your car

C. Stay in your vehicle with your hands on the steering wheel, and wait for the officer to approach you
D. Get out of your car and walk toward the patrol car
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CHAPTER 4 ANSWER KEY
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