
Their Safety, Your
Responsibility:

A Guide for Health Care Professionals



Protecting Public Safety 
The public has a right to protection from death, injury or property 
loss caused by drivers with medical conditions that impair their  
ability to drive safely. Medical reporting plays a vital role in 		
providing this protection.

Pennsylvania’s health care professionals are required by state law  
to report any individuals aged 15 and older to PennDOT who have 
medical conditions that impair a person’s ability to drive safely. 

Many of Pennsylvania’s 2.1 million older driving adults self-	
regulate when they realize health factors are putting themselves 
and others at risk. But other drivers with diminished ability get 
behind the wheel because they view not being able to drive as the 
loss of 	independence – and that can have a tragic result.

Medical reporting assists PennDOT in determining whether 	
those individuals who are applying for a driver’s license or those 
individuals already possessing a driver’s license are medically 
qualified to safely operate a motor vehicle. Without the 		
cooperation of medical providers, thousands of medically 		
impaired drivers would remain undetected. 

Medical reporting is a very effective mechanism for identifying  
medically impaired drivers. Approximately 35,000 new reports  
are submitted each year to PennDOT. About 10,000 of these  
individuals have medical impairments significant enough to merit 
recall of their driving privilege. An additional 21 percent of reports  
result in restrictions placed on the individual’s driving privilege. 
These reports also cross the age spectrum; half involve drivers  
under 65 years of age.
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How the Driver Evaluation  
Process Works 
The receipt of a report triggers an evaluation process, which is  
performed by PennDOT’s Medical Unit. Upon careful evaluation  
of the information received, the Medical Unit will do one of  
the following: 

1.	 Restrictions to the person’s driving privilege may be added 	
or deleted;

2.	 The person’s license may be recalled or restored;

3.	 The person may be asked to provide more specific medical 
information or complete a drivers examination; or

4.	  No action may be taken.

Although certain health care personnel have a legal responsibility 
to report, and PennDOT may request further medical information, 
ultimately it is PennDOT, not the health care personnel, that 	
determines if a license should be recalled or restored. The 		
Commonwealth has the option of placing restrictions on driving 
and the patient may also be asked to have an additional medical 
evaluation or driver’s test.



An Overview of the 
Medical Criteria
PennDOT has a Medical Advisory Board (MAB) responsible for the 
formulation and revision of physical and mental criteria, including 
vision standards, for the licensing of drivers. The MAB consists of 
a neurologist, a cardiologist, an internist, a general practitioner,  
an ophthalmologist, a psychiatrist, an orthopedic surgeon, an  
optometrist, and members from PennDOT, Department of Health, 
Department of Drug and Alcohol, and the Pennsylvania State 
Police.

The formulation and revision of these regulations is open for  
public review and comment through the Commonwealth’s  
Regulatory Review process. Medical regulations pertaining to  
driver qualifications can be found online at www.pacode.com,  
and specifically in Title 67, Chapter 83, Physical and Mental 	
Criteria, Including Vision Standards Relating to the Licensing           
of Drivers.  



4

The following is a broad overview of requirements and disqualifying 
conditions. Specific guidelines can be found in the regulations.

Several conditions require the individual to remain episode free 
for a specific term before he/she is eligible to have the driving 
privilege restored. Other conditions cause an indefinite recall of 
the driving privilege until the condition has improved to the point 
where the treating health care provider indicates that the patient 
can safely operate a motor vehicle. 

Minimum Vision Requirements
Drivers must meet minimum visual acuity and field of vision  
requirements with or without correction.

Restricted License Vision Requirements
A low vision restricted license is available to drivers who meet 
certain visual acuity requirements. Please note that this type 
of license will only be issued upon the recommendation of a                  
licensed optometrist, ophthalmologist, or physician who has      
the equipment to properly evaluate acuity.

Seizures
A person with a seizure disorder must be seizure-free for a  
specified period of time in order to maintain their driving privilege. 
Waivers are available upon recommendation of a licensed health 
care provider under certain circumstances.

General Disqualifications 
•	 Unstable or brittle diabetes or hypoglycemia.

•	 Cerebral vascular insufficiency or cardiovascular disease 	
that resulted in:

	 - 	 Syncopal attack or loss of consciousness.

	 - 	 Vertigo, paralysis or loss of qualifying visual fields.

•	 Periodic episodes of loss of consciousness of unknown  
etiology or not otherwise categorized.



Disqualifications on Provider’s Recommendation
•	 Loss of a joint or extremity as a functional defect  

or limitation.

•	 Impairment of the use of a joint or extremity as a functional 
defect or limitation:

	 - 	 The provider should inform the patient of the prohibition 		
	 against driving due to the functional impairment.  

	 -	 The provider should inform the Department in writing of 		
	 the impairment if the condition has lasted or is expected 		
	 to last longer than 90 days.

•	 Rheumatic, arthritic, orthopedic, muscular, vascular or  
neuromuscular disease:

	 -	 The provider should inform the patient of the prohibition 		
	 against driving due to the functional impairment.

	 -	 The provider shall inform the Department in writing  
	 of the impairment if the condition has lasted or is expected 	
	 to last longer than 90 days.

•	 Cerebral vascular insufficiency or cardiovascular disease  
which, within the last 6 months, has resulted in lack of  
coordination, confusion, loss of awareness, dyspnea upon  
mild exertion, or any other symptom that impairs the ability  
to drive safely.

•	 Mental disorder.

•	 Periodic episodes of loss of attention or awareness which  
are of unknown etiology or not otherwise categorized.

•	 Use of any drug or substance, including alcohol, known to 
impair skill or functions, regardless if medically prescribed.

•	 Other conditions which, in the opinion of a provider, is  
likely to impair the ability to control and safely operate  
a motor vehicle.
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Recommending a 
Driving Evaluation
If you feel that a patient is medically qualified but you are uncertain 
if he/she is physically able to drive safely, you may note on the  
medical form that “medically” they meet the minimum standards; 
however, you want them to pass a driver’s test before they are 
cleared to drive.  

This comment lets PennDOT know it’s safe to put a driver’s license  
examiner in a vehicle with this individual and also gives you, the 
health care provider, the assurance that they will not be cleared  
unless they demonstrate the necessary skills.  

Identifying the Need for  
Adaptive Equipment
Based upon your report and subsequent evaluation, PennDOT may 
determine that a driver must be restricted to driving only when  
utilizing appropriate adaptive equipment, such as hand controls, 
left foot gas pedal or spinner knob, in order to safely operate a 
vehicle.

For instances where you are unsure if a driver needs adaptive  
equipment, you may refer the driver to a rehabilitation center for  
a driving evaluation.    

There are Driver Rehabilitation Specialists located throughout 
the country and across the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.  For 
more information and a listing of Driver Rehabilitation Specialists, 
please visit www.aded.net.



Performing Due Diligence While 
Protecting Confidentiality
PennDOT’s Medical Reporting Program is designed both to protect 
the anonymity of the health care provider making the report and  
also to respect patient confidentiality.

Confidentiality of Reports
Reports submitted to PennDOT are confidential and used solely      
to determine the qualification of an individual to drive a motor 
vehicle. PennDOT is compelled by law to honor this provision 
and will not release information regarding the source or content 
of  the report, even when the inquiry is from the patient who was 
reported. The only time this information would be released is 
during a court proceeding, where the driver is challenging a recall 
or suspension of their driving privilege.  
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Helping Patients Cope with  
Driving Limitations 
No other options are as effective as medical reporting in 		
identifying drivers who can no longer operate a vehicle safely. 
Some states have statutory requirements for self-reporting, but 
research indicates an extremely high rate of noncompliance. 

Research shows that older drivers prefer to discuss concerns  
about their driving with their health care provider. Providers 
should recognize the emotional issues for their patients who are 
facing the possibility of restricting or stopping driving altogether. 
You can encourage patients and family members to address their 
medical issues, improve their driving skills and think about 	
developing alternative mobility plans. 

Other brochures in PennDOT’s Seniors Driving Safely Series, 	
“Older, Wiser, Safer: A Senior Driver’s Guide,” “Keeping Older    
Drivers Safe: A Guide for Family and Friends,” and “Staying Safe: 
What to Expect When Your Medical Condition Has Been Reported 
to PennDOT,” provide helpful information and tips. Additional 
resources are listed at the end of this guide. 
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Making a Report
All physicians, chiropractors, physician assistants, certified         
registered nurse practitioners and other persons authorized to 
diagnose or treat disorders and disabilities are required to report 
within 10 days, in writing, the full name, address and date of 
birth of every person diagnosed as having a condition that could          
impair his/her ability to drive a motor vehicle safely. It is helpful 
to PennDOT in making a licensing determination if you include 
the conditions and any specific information about the condition. 
The report may be made by writing a letter or by using PennDOT’s 
condition-specific medical form(s) or PennDOT’s Initial Reporting 
Form (DL-13).

Accessing and Submitting Forms
If you have online access to PennDOT’s condition-specific medical 
forms, you may use the applicable form(s) as an initial report. If 
you do not currently have online access to the medical forms, but 
are interested in obtaining access, visit the Medical Reporting  
Information Center on PennDOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services  
website, www.dmv.pa.gov, to register.

Go to Information Centers and click on “Medical Reporting.”  
You will be taken to the Medical Reporting Information Center.  
Here you will find more information on reporting requirements,  
as well as information on filling out and submitting Medical              
Reporting Forms.

You can also reach the Medical Unit by phone at 717-787-9662,  
Monday-Friday during regular business hours.  

The address is:  

Bureau of Driver Licensing 

Driver Qualifications Section 

P.O. Box 68682 

Harrisburg, PA  17106-8682
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Understanding Your Liability for Reporting or Not Reporting 
When you report, you are exempt from any civil or criminal              
liability. No action may be brought against any person or agency 
for providing the required information. However, if you DO NOT 
report, there is a possibility that you could be held responsible 
as a proximate cause of an accident resulting in death, injury or 
property loss caused by your patient. Also, providers who do not 
comply with their legal requirement to report may be convicted                       
of a summary criminal offense.

Knowing Your Legal Liability When Issuing Patient  
Driving Restrictions 
As long as you notify the patient that you are instructing them      
to restrict or halt their driving, and you have it documented in the 
patient’s file, the Pennsylvania Courts have determined that you 
shouldn’t be held responsible if he/she continues to drive and is  
involved in a crash. (That does not mean, however, that you can’t  
be named in a law suit.) 

This is the case with any condition you report to PennDOT. Always 
notify your patient if there are any restrictions or prohibitions to  
driving. Remember to document your instructions to the patient  
in his/her file.  

Dealing with Patient Non-compliance
If you become aware of a patient not following your instructions 
to refrain from driving or not following your prescribed treatment 
plan, please notify the Medical Unit. Although they can’t provide 
any details back to you, they can research the case to determine 
if the patient is medically qualified to drive. In some cases when a 
driver files an appeal of their license recall or suspension, a judge 
will order a supersedeas, which allows the driver to continue to 
drive legally until their case is heard.  If the driver is not medically 
qualified, PennDOT can notify law enforcement for their assistance 
in getting the medically unqualified driver off the road. 
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Mature Driver  
Improvement Courses

Under PA law individuals may be entitled to at least a 5 percent  
discount on their entire automobile insurance policy if they are  
55 or older and successfully complete a driver improvement course 
approved by PennDOT. Those interested should check with their  
insurance carrier for the specifics of their program.

Please refer to the PennDOT website www.penndot.pa.gov to 
see all state approved courses that are held at various locations 
throughout the Commonwealth as well as Online. 

All approved courses specifically address the safety needs of 	
the mature driver. There are no written or practical driving tests 	
required. The course fees are moderate, but vary with each 		
organization.



12

More Safety Resources
for Senior Drivers

Pennsylvania Department 
of Transportation (PennDOT)  

717-412-5300 • 1101 S. Front Street • Harrisburg, PA 17104

www.penndot.gov/safety 
The Traffic Safety and Driver Topics section of this website           
contains an array of information pertaining to safely operating a 
motor vehicle.

www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/Mature-Drivers
The Mature Driver section of PennDOT’s website offers resources 
for drivers including safety tips, improvement courses and licensing 
laws as well as information for the health care community and 
medical reporting tools. 

National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA)

1-888-327-4236

www.nhtsa.gov/Driving+Safety/Older+Drivers
NHTSA offers guides, research reports and toolkits for mature  
drivers and those around them, including family and friends,  
medical professionals and law enforcement officers. 

Pennsylvania Department of Aging 
(PDA) 

717-783-1550 • 555 Walnut Street, 5th Fl. • Harrisburg, PA 17101

www.aging.pa.gov/aging-services/transportation
The Aging Services/ Transportation section of this website 		
provides details on the PA Free Transit Program for individuals	
65+, the Shared Ride Program, and also offers additional resources 
and links. 
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CarFit
www.car-fit.org
CarFit is an educational program that offers older adults the opportunity 
to check how well their personal vehicles “fit” them.

The CarFit program also provides information and materials on 
community- specific resources that could enhance their safety as drivers, 
and/or  increase their mobility in the community. 

The Association for Driver Rehabilitation Specialists (ADED) 
Driver Rehabilitation Specialists work with 
people of all ages and abilities, exploring 
alternative transportation solutions for 
drivers with special needs or who may need 
to use special equipment to continue to drive. This includes helping 
older drivers and their families master the challenges of diminishing 
driving skills. Please visit www.aded.net and click on Directory & 
Services, then click on DRS or CDRS Provider Search.

PA Yellow Dot 
www.penndot.gov/TravelInPA/Pages/Yellow-Dot.aspx
This program assists citizens in the “golden hour” of  
emergency care following a traffic accident when they may not 	
be able to communicate their needs themselves. Placing a Yellow Dot 
decal in your vehicle’s rear window alerts first responders to check 
your glove compartment for vital information to ensure you receive 
the medical attention you need. The program is a cooperative effort 
between PennDOT, the Department of Health and Aging, the State 
Police, the Turnpike Commission, first responders and local law         
enforcement. 

The Emergency Contact Information Program 
The Emergency Contact Information Program was 
developed to allow your emergency contact  
information to be quickly available to law  
enforcement through a secure online database. Just 			 
visit www.dmv.pa.gov and click on the icon you see to the right to      
use your Pennsylvania Driver’s License or ID information to enter 
emergency contacts to speak for you if ever you can’t speak for yourself.
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Other Brochures in the  
Seniors Driving Safely Series

The publication you are reading is part of PennDOT’s Seniors 
Driving Safely Series, developed for mature drivers and others 	
who help to care for them. Brochures in the series include:

Older, Wiser, Safer: A Senior Driver’s Guide provides tips for  
dealing with various driving situations and staying safe on the 
road, as well as self-tests to help seniors evaluate their driving 
readiness.

Keeping Older Drivers Safe: A Guide for Family and Friends 
helps adult children and other loved ones understand when and 
how to get involved in an older person’s decisions about driving. 
 
Staying Safe: What to Expect When Your Medical Condition 	
Has Been Reported to PennDOT was developed to help seniors 
understand how the medical reporting process works in 		
Pennsylvania.

PennDOT encourages you as a health care provider to refer your  
patients and their family members to these publications for more  
information and support. They can be downloaded by visiting  
www.dmv.pa.gov. Under the “Driver Services” tab, click on 		
“Mature Drivers”.

Older, Wiser, Safer:
A Senior Driver’s Guide

Helping Older
Drivers Stay Safe:

A Guide for Family & Friends

Staying Safe:
What to Expect When Your

Medical Condition Has Been 
Reported to PennDOT



Other Brochures in the  
Seniors Driving Safely Series

Notes



Notes
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Notes



About PennDOT and our
Seniors Driving Safely Series

PennDOT oversees a breadth of programs and policies that ensure 
that the movement of people and goods within the state is safe, 
reliable, and efficient. We oversee an ongoing investment in the 
integrity of Pennsylvania’s highway and bridge infrastructure.  

PennDOT is directly responsible for nearly 40,000 miles of high-
way and roughly 25,000 bridges. We also administer the state’s 

more than 11 million vehicle registrations and 8.9 million driver’s 
licenses and oversee safety and emission inspection programs. 

While PennDOT strives to set the standard for an organized        
transportation structure and maintain a reliable infrastructure 

throughout Pennsylvania, our mission cannot be completed 
without the compliance and cooperation of those who utilize 

and operate within our state’s roadways and multimodal systems. 
Our Seniors Driving Safely Series is one facet of our effort to help 
educate, guide, remind, assist, and protect all Pennsylvanians in 

getting wherever they need to go – safely.
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