
 A    APPLICANT(S) INFORMATION

 B    VEHICLE DESCRIPTION AND GENERAL INFORMATION - Vehicle the vintage registration plate is being assigned to.

 C    VINTAGE REGISTRATION PLATE INFORMATION BEING REQUESTED TO BE DISPLAYED

 D    CERTIFICATION/SIGNATURE

Last Name (or Full Business Name)

Street Address

City State Zip Code

First Name Middle Name

Daytime Telephone Number

Registration Plate # in Your Possession 

Year Registration Plate Manufactured 

Registration Plate Background Color

Registration Plate Alpha/Numeric Color 

In lieu of an antique or classic registration plate, the owner of an antique or classic motor vehicle may request permission from PennDOT to 
display a vintage registration plate. A vintage registration plate is a “period-issued” registration plate from 1906 to 1976 to be displayed on an 
antique or classic vehicle with the same corresponding model year. Vintage registration plates are not manufactured or issued by PennDOT. 
Applicants are required to provide the vintage registration plate they wish to display on their antique or classic vehicle.  

The use of a vintage registration plate is governed by Section 1340 of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code which states: “It is unlawful for any 
person to operate a motorcycle or vehicle with Antique, Classic, Vintage, Collectible, or Historic Military Vehicle registration plates for general 
daily transportation. Permitted use shall be limited to participation in club activities, exhibits, tours, parades, occasional transportation and 
similar uses.”  Occasional transportation and similar use is defined as one day a week. 
To display a vintage registration plate, the vehicle must already be branded as an antique or classic vehicle. If the vehicle is not branded as an 
antique or classic vehicle, you must also complete and submit Form MV-11, "Application for Permanent Antique, Classic or Collectible 
Registration Plates," and pay all appropriate fees. 

Although buses and trucks are eligible for vintage registration plates, buses may not be used to transport passengers and trucks may not haul 
cargo. Vintage motorcycle registration plates may only be displayed on antique or classic motorcycles. Vintage registration plates are not 
available for motorized pedalcycles or motor homes. 

No registration configuration will be duplicated. PennDOT recommends that applicants verify if the configuration of the vintage 
registration plate can be issued by checking the configuration on PennDOT’s website. To check personalized registration plate 
availability, visit PennDOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services website, www.dmv.pa.gov, and select Plate Availability from the list of 
services under the Online Services heading.

(        )

Title Number

Current Antique/Classic Registration Plate Number

Vehicle Identification Number Make of Vehicle Model Year Body Type

Signature of Co-owner/Title of Authorized Signer

Co-Owner Last Name First Name Middle Name

PA DL/Photo ID# 
or Bus. ID#

Date of Birth

PA DL/Photo ID# Date of Birth

I/We certify the vintage registration plate is an authentic Pennsylvania registration plate for the year of manufacture listed in Section 
C and is physically in my possession. I/We further certify under penalty of law that the information contained herein is true and cor-
rect. WARNING: Unsworn falsification to authorities is a misdemeanor of the third degree punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 
and/or imprisonment up to 1 year (18 Pa.C.S. Section 4904 [b]). 

MV-11V (7-23)

APPLICATION TO DISPLAY A VINTAGE 
REGISTRATION PLATE (GR)        Fee: $96

(The space above is for Department use only) 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles • Special Tag Unit 

P.O. Box 68293 • Harrisburg, PA 17106-8293

Signature of Applicant      Date

www.dmv.pa.gov
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BMV Fees

https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-11.pdf
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-11.pdf
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-11.pdf
http://www.dmv.pa.gov


INSTRUCTIONS 
Application for Vintage Registration Plates for Vehicles Currently Displaying Antique or Classic Registration 

The following items are necessary for processing vintage registration plates for vehicles that currently display antique 
or classic registration:  

1.  This form requires a fee. Please review the instruction below carefully prior to submitting the application. For 
    a complete listing of motor vehicle fees, refer to Form MV-70S, “Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees,”
    found on our website at www.dmv.pa.gov or scan the QR code on the front of this application. Payment is to be
    made by check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. DO NOT SEND CASH.  

2.  One clearly distinguishable color photo of the front side of the vintage registration plate. Photographs should 
    not be taken at an angle. Photograph must be taken in normal daylight and must clearly show the registration. 

3. Form MV-11V, “Application to Display a Vintage Registration Plate.”  

4.  The fee to apply to display a vintage registration plate is $96.   
 
Application for Antique and Classic Registration in Addition to Applying to Display a Vintage Registration Plate 

1.  If you are purchasing the vehicle and wish to immediately brand the vehicle as an antique or classic vehicle 
    and obtain registration, you will need: 
    a.  The Pennsylvania Certificate of Title and Form MV-4ST, “Vehicle Sales and Use Tax Return/Application for 
         Registration” or an out-of-state title and Form MV-1, “Application for Certificate of Title.”   
    b.  Form MV-11, “Application for Permanent Antique, Classic or Collectible Registration Plate.” 
    c.  The fee for antique or classic registration is $96. This is in addition to the $96 application fee to display a 
         vintage registration plate.  
2.  If the vehicle is currently titled in your name and you now wish to brand the vehicle as an antique or classic 
    vehicle, you will need 
    a.  The Pennsylvania Certificate of Title and Form MV-11. 
    b.  The fee for antique or classic registration is $96. This is in addition to the $96 application fee to display a 
         vintage registration plate.
         Note: If the vehicle is being branded as an antique or classic vehicle for the first time, photos from all four 
         sides must be submitted and a photo of the VIN or serial number, as appropriate. Photographs should not be 
         taken at an angle, must be taken in normal daylight, and must clearly show the vehicle and all exterior 
         equipment (i.e., lights, rear wheel shields, fender coverage), windows must be rolled up and convertible top 
         (if applicable) must be up.  
3.  If the vehicle is currently titled in your name as an antique or classic vehicle and you now wish to apply 
    registration to the vehicle, you will need: 
    a.  Form MV-11, “Application for Permanent, Antique, Classic or Collectible Registration Plate.” 
    b.  The fee for antique or classic registration is $96. This is in addition to the $96 application fee to display a 
         vintage registration plate.  
If the current owner sells the vehicle and wants to give the new owner the vintage registration plate, the seller must 
write a letter of release for the registration plate and give it to the new owner. The new owner should forward the 
letter to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, along with all appropriate documents and fees when applying for title and 
registration of the vehicle. The new owner must pay the full application fee of $96 to display the vintage registration 
plate and submit a completed Form MV-11V. This fee is in addition to the $96 fee required with Form MV-11.  Make 
check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and mail all forms and fees to the Bureau of 
Motor Vehicles, Special Tag Unit, P.O. Box 68293, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8293.

Visit us at www.dmv.pa.gov or call us at 717-412-5300. TTY callers — please dial 711 to reach us.
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https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/mv-70s.pdf
https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-11.pdf
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-11.pdf
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-11.pdf
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