
Person with a Disability (K9) - Complete Sections A, B, C or D (NOT BOTH), E (if applicable), and F.  FEE: $13
Person with a Disability Motorcycle (BK) - Complete Sections A, B, C or D (NOT BOTH), E (if applicable), and F. FEE: $13 
Hearing Impaired (S4) - Complete Sections A, B, C, E (if applicable), and F. FEE: $13 (NOTE: No Special Parking Privileges)  

q
q

APPLICATION FOR PERSON WITH A DISABILITY OR 
HEARING IMPAIRED REGISTRATION PLATE OR A 
PERSON WITH A DISABILITY MOTORCYCLE PLATE 

CHECK ( ü ) TYPE OF REGI       STRATION PLATE REQUESTED - See reverse side for instructions and eligibility requirements.

Two Plates (with identical plate numbers) for vehicles equipped with a Wheelchair/Personal Assistive Device Carrier. (See reverse for instructions)
For two Person with a Disability Plates (IV) - Complete Sections A, B, C or D (NOT BOTH), E (if applicable), and F. FEE: $13q

B

C

D Certification by Police Officer - A police officer may only certify that the person with disability does not have full use of a leg or both legs, or 
is blind.  NOTE: If Section C above is completed, please skip this Section.

A

Vehicle Owner Name (or Full Business Name)

Co-Owner Name

PA DL/Photo ID#  
or Bus. ID#

Date of Birth Complete the information to the left if you qualify as a person in loco parentis, parent (including 
adoptive parent or foster parent), or a spouse of a person who qualifies for a Person with Disability 
registration plate as specified in reason code 1 through 8 on the reverse side of this form.

Name of Person with Disability Relationship to Person with Disability 

Street Address City State     Zip Code

Health Care Provider’s Printed Name

Office Street Address City State Zip Code

Health Care Provider’s Signature Medical License No.

Telephone Number 
(            )

Officer’s Printed Name

Department/Station City State Zip Code

Officer’s Signature Badge Number

Telephone Number 
(            )

This is to certify that the person listed above with a disability has the condition checked below and is entitled to the use and privileges of the registration 
plate requested, is blind, OR does not have full use of a leg or both legs as evident by the use of a:

crutcheswheelchair walker cane/quad cane other prescribed device:
q

q q qq q

MV-145 (7-23)

(state device)

PA DL/Photo ID# Date of Birth

Vehicle Identification Number Registration Plate NumberTitle Number

Certification From a Health Care Provider Licensed or Certified in PA or a Contiguous State (New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, West Virginia 
or Ohio). THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED IN FULL. WARNING: Altering or forging a document issued by the Department, such as a Person with 
Disability registration plate, or possessing, using or displaying such a document knowing it to have been altered, forged or counterfeited, is a misdemeanor of 
the first degree pursuant to the Vehicle Code, 75 Pa.C.S. Section 7122, punishable by a fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not more than five 
years, or both.

(The space above is for Department use only) 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles • P.O. Box 68593 • Harrisburg, PA 17106-8593

FIRST CHOICE

The number of allotted letters or numbers in combination varies depending on the selected registration plate type. Pre-printed letter configurations or designated letter(s) 
appear on personalized registration plates based on the type of registration plate requested. Please see the reverse side of this application for additional information. 
No other special characters are available. Please use capital letters and print clearly.   

NOTE: When requesting a numeric character of zero, please show as "Ø" 
instead of the alpha character "O." Since this is an electronically fillable form, 
after printing the form, please be sure any zero is marked with a "/."

E

SECOND CHOICE THIRD CHOICE

 Person with Disability Information - List all information as shown on current registration card.

Street Address City State     Zip Code

   UNSWORN DECLARATION AND PERSON WITH DISABILITY SIGNATURE - Person with disability, natural parent or other authorized person listed in Section B must sign below.F

This is to certify that __________________________________ (Name of Person with Disability) is under my care and has a hearing impairment, or  

has the following condition listed on the reverse side of this application under “Eligibility Requirements”: ____________ (List Reason Code #1-8.) 
NOTE: If reason code #4 is listed above, please indicate the type of device used: _____________________________________. 
NOTE: Only those conditions listed on the reverse side of this application (1-8) qualify an applicant for a Person with a Disability registration plate.

I/We declare under penalty of perjury under the law of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, that the foregoing is true and correct, and that application was made 
for the above product.  
Furthermore, I/we state that I/we have read and signed this application after its completion, and I/we swear or affirm that the statements made herein are true and 
correct, and that any statement made on or pursuant to this application is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. Section 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification), 
which include criminal prosecution and a term of imprisonment, the maximum of which may be one year [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(b)], or up to two years [18 Pa.C.S. 
4904(a)]. In addition to any other penalty, a person convicted under this section shall be sentenced to pay a fine of at least $1,000 [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(d)]. 
 Signed on the _____ day of _______________, _______________________  at ____________________________, _________________________.  

___________________________________________      ___________________________________________                   ___________________ 

___________________________________________      ___________________________________________                   ___________________ 
Printed Name of Person with Disability/Loco Parentis Person with Disability/Loco Parentis Signature

(county or other location, and state) (country)

Telephone:

Printed Name of Co-Applicant Co-Applicant Signature
Telephone:

BMV Fees

q

Vehicle Information - NOTE: In conjunction with replacement of your registration plate, you will receive one registration card. Duplicate registration cards 
vary in cost depending on the time they are requested, refer to Form MV-70S, "Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees," found on our website at 
www.dmv.pa.gov. Number of duplicate registration cards requested @ $2 each:________.

OPTIONAL PERSONALIZATION REQUEST - NOTE: Additional fee required.

https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-70S.pdf
http://www.dmv.pa.gov


Plate Type 
 
Person with a  
Disability  
Registration  
Plate

Eligibility Requirements 
“Reason Codes” 

Person with Disability: 
(1)  is blind. 
(2)  does not have full use of an arm or both arms. 
(3)  cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest. 
(4) cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, 

a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic 
device, wheelchair or other assistive device. 

(5) is restricted by lung disease to such an extent 
that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory 
volume for one second, when measured by 
spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial 
oxygen tension is less than 60 MM/HG on room 
air at rest. 

(6) uses portable oxygen. 
(7) has a cardiac condition to the extent that the 

person’s functional limitations are classified in 
severity as Class III or Class IV according to the 
standards set by the American Heart 
Association. 

(8) is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an 
arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition. 

NOTE: If you are the parent or adult charged by law 
with the natural parent’s rights, duties and 
responsibilities acting on behalf of a minor child 
(under 18) in place of the child’s natural parents 
(person in loco-parentis), complete the appropriate 
information on the front side of this application. 
In addition, a parent, including an adoptive or foster 
parent who has custody care or control of the child 
or adult child, or a spouse may apply on behalf of the 
child, adult child or spouse (applicant), provided the 
person with disability meets eligibility requirements 
(1) through (8). 

Any person with a hearing impairment verified by   
a licensed health care provider. 
 
Same disabilities as listed for Person with a 
Disability registration plate.

Qualifying Vehicles 
 

(1) A passenger vehicle or truck with a           
registered gross weight of not more 
than 14,000 lbs. The vehicle must be 
used by a person with disability or 
operated exclusively for the use and 
benefit of the person with a disability. 
NOTE: Organizations that operate a 
passenger vehicle to transport persons 
with disabilities must supply PennDOT 
with the following: 
      a)  A notarized statement of how 

the vehicle will be used and the 
type of services that will be 
provided.  

      b)  The weekly or monthly number 
of hours that the services are 
provided. 

NOTE: The vehicle(s) must be titled in 
the name of the organization. 

No restrictions. 

Motorcycle Only.

No special benefits. 

Same as above for Person 
with a Disability registration 
plate.

NOTE: This form requires a fee. Please review the instructions below carefully prior to submitting the application. For a complete listing of motor vehicle 
            fees, refer to Form MV-70S, “Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees” found on our website at www.dmv.pa.gov or scan the QR code on the 
            front of this application. 
 
•   A Health Care Provider is defined as a physician, chiropractor, optometrist, podiatrist, physician assistant, or a certified registered nurse practitioner. 
   A Health Care Provider may only certify disabilities within their scope of practice. 
 
•   This application may only be used by a vehicle owner or co-owner who qualifies for the type of registration plate indicated on the front of this application 
   unless the vehicle owner is a person in loco parentis, parent of an adult child, or a spouse of a qualified person. NOTE: Individuals should list their PA       
   Driver’s License (PA DL) or Photo ID# in the space provided. Businesses should list their Business ID# (Bus. ID) where indicated (i.e. E.I.N.). 
 
•   Only one registration plate issued per qualified person for one vehicle. 
 
•   Should you desire to renew your registration in conjunction with this application, you must complete Form MV-140, "Request for Registration," or your 
   registration renewal application and return it with this application along with your registration fee and the replacement registration plate fee  
   (if applicable). 
 
•   You may be eligible to renew your vehicle for either a one-year or two-year registration period. Both registration periods and the required fees are provided 
   on the registration renewal form or Form MV-70S, “Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees” or scan the QR Code on the front of this application.  
 
•   ACT 89, signed into law November 25, 2013, provided for the elimination of vehicle registration stickers. PennDOT has not issued registration stickers 
   since December 31, 2016. Customers are still required to maintain a valid and current registration and must present the registration card to law 
   enforcement when asked. The valid registration card is also still required when having a safety inspection completed. 
 
•   Two registration plates (with identical registration plate numbers) may be issued for vehicles equipped with a wheelchair/personal assistive device carrier 
   on the rear of the vehicle. One registration plate must be affixed to the rear of the vehicle and one registration plate must be affixed to the rear of the 
   carrier attached to the vehicle for which the registration plates are issued. 
 
•   Please note, registrants must remember to remove their Person with a Disability registration plate prior to selling their vehicle.  
 
•   Send completed application to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17104-2516. 
 
Use of Person with a Disability Registration Plate: 
 
•   Parking in a designated persons with disability parking space is only permitted with this registration plate when the vehicle is being used for the  
   transportation of the person for which the registration plate was issued. 
 
•   Any vehicle lawfully displaying a registration plate will qualify for parking in areas designated only for use by persons with a disability. NOTE: This 
   registration plate can not be used to park where parking is prohibited.

Benefits 
 

(1) Parking permitted in 
spaces designated for disabled 
persons and for 60 minutes in 
excess of legal parking period 
except where local ordinances 
or police regulations provide 
for the accommodation of 
heavy traffic during morning, 
afternoon or evening hours. 
(2) Upon request of a person 
with disability, local authorities 
may erect on the highway as 
close as possible to the person’s 
residence a sign(s) indicating 
that the place is reserved for the 
person with disability, that no one 
else may park there unless a 
person with disability plate or 
placard is displayed and that any 
unauthorized person parking 
there will be subject to a fine.

Hearing Impaired  
Registration Plate 
 
Person with a Disability  
Motorcycle Registration 
Plate

https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-70S.pdf
http://www.dmv.pa.gov
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/mv-140.pdf
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/MV-70S.pdf


IF PERSONALIZING YOUR REGISTRATION PLATE 
 
•   Personalized registration plates may contain: 
    

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
•   PennDOT reserves the right to limit or reject requests. 
 
•   The fee to personalize your Person with a Disability registration plate is an additional $64. The fee to personalize your Hearing Impaired registration plate is 
    $128. The registration on your vehicle must be current in order for PennDOT to process your request. The additional fee covers the cost of your 
    personalized registration plate order only and will not renew your vehicle's registration. If your registration has expired or expires in the next three  
    months, please include your completed renewal application, Form MV-105, "Pennsylvania Registration Renewal Application," or Form MV-140, “Request for 
    Registration,” and a separate check or money order in the amount of your registration renewal fee. Payment is to be made by check or money order 
    payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH. 
 
•   To check personalized registration plate availability, visit PennDOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services website, www.dmv.pa.gov, and select Plate Availability 
   from the list of services under the Online Services heading. Personalized registration plates will not be reserved until PennDOT receives payment and   
   a completed application, and approves your requested registration plate configuration [number(s) and/or letter(s)]. Please note that registration plate 
   requests are processed on a first-come, first-served basis. Although a requested registration plate configuration may show as being available on the 
   website, it is possible that a request for the same registration plate configuration may have already been submitted by another customer and may not 
   be available when making application. 
 
•   Personalized registration plates will be manufactured on the basis of this application. NO REFUND of the fee will be issued if an applicant cancels 
   a request after the order is placed with the manufacturer. 
 
•   Allow 8 to 10 weeks for delivery. 

For Person with a Disability registration plates, up to FIVE letters or numbers in combination. If a hyphen or space is 
used as part of the registration configuration, it counts as one of the available spaces for personalization. Only one 
hyphen or space is permitted, but not both. No additional special characters are available. Please use capital letters 
and print clearly. When requesting a numeric character of zero, please show as "Ø" instead of the alpha character 
"O." Since this is an electronically fillable form, after printing the form, please be sure any zero is marked with a "/." 
 
 
For two Person with a Disability wheelchair/personal assistive device carrier registration plates, up to FIVE letters or 
numbers in combination. If a hyphen or space is used as part of the registration configuration, it counts as one of 
the available spaces for personalization. Only one hyphen or space is permitted, but not both. No additional special 
characters are available. Please use capital letters and print clearly. When requesting a numeric character of zero, 
please show as "Ø" instead of the alpha character "O." Since this is an electronically fillable form, after printing the 
form, please be sure any zero is marked with a "/." 
 
 
For Person with a Disability Motorcycle registration plates, up to FOUR letters or numbers in combination. If a space is 
used as part of the registration configuration, it counts as one of the available spaces for personalization. Only one 
space is permitted. No hyphen or additional special characters are available. Please use capital letters and print 
clearly. When requesting a numeric character of zero, please show as "Ø" instead of the alpha character "O." Since 
this is an electronically fillable form, after printing the form, please be sure any zero is marked with a "/." NOTE: A 
pre-printed letter configuration of "PD" placed above the person with disabilities symbol will proceed your 
personalized configuration on your registration plate and cannot be changed. 
 
 
For Hearing Impaired registration plates, up to FIVE letters or numbers in combination. If a hyphen or space is used  
as part of the registration configuration, it counts as one of the available spaces for personalization. Only one 
hyphen or space is permitted, but not both. No additional special characters are available. Please use capital letters 
and print clearly. When requesting a numeric character of zero, please show as "Ø" instead of the alpha character 
"O." Since this is an electronically fillable form, after printing the form, please be sure any zero is marked with a "/." 
NOTE: A pre-printed letter configuration of “HE” will precede your personalized configuration on your  registration 
plate and cannot be changed.

SAMPLE

SAMPLE

SAMPLE

SAMPLE

Visit us at www.dmv.pa.gov or call us at 717-412-5300. TTY callers — please dial 711 to reach us.

https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/mv-140.pdf
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/mv-140.pdf
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