MV-165 (7-23)

pennsylvania
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
www.dmv.pa.gov

APPLICATION FOR A VERTICAL |
MOTORCYCLE REGISTRATION PLATE (EQ) Bureat of Motor Vehoiee 1101 S Front anaet - Hanebore, DA 171042516

This form may require a fee. Please review the instructions below carefully prior to submitting the application. For a complete
listing of motor vehicle fees, refer to Form MV-70S, "Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees." found on our website at
www.dmv.pa.gov or scan the QR code at the top of this application. Payment is to be made by check or money order
payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. DO NOT SEND CASH.

NOTE: A vertical motorcycle registration plate may only be displayed vertically.

A | VEHICLE DESCRIPTION AND APPLICANT INFORMATION - Complete this section exactly as information appears on current registration card.

Title Number Vehicle Identification Number

Registration Plate Number Expiration Date Make of Vehicle Year

Last Name (Or Full Business Name) First Name Middle Name PA DL/Photo ID# Date of Birth
or Bus. ID#

Co-Owner Last Name First Name Middle Name PA DL/Photo ID# Date of Birth

Street Address City State Zip Code

Telephone Number: Work:

NOTE: In conjunction with replacement of your registration plate, you will receive one registration card. If additional registration cards
are desired, the fee is $2 for each registration card. Number of duplicate registration cards requested @ $2 each:

B | OPTIONAL PERSONALIZATION REQUEST - NOTE: Additional $128 fee required.

Vertical motorcycle personalized registration plate choices may contain up to FIVE letters or numbers in combination. ONLY one
space is permitted as part of the available spaces for personalization. No hyphens or other special characters are available.
Please use capital letters and print clearly. Additional instructions are listed on the reverse side of this application.

FIRST CHOICE SECOND CHOICE THIRD CHOICE

NOTE: When requesting a numeric character of zero, please show as "@" instead of the alpha character "O." Since this is an
electronically fillable form, after printing the form, please be sure any zero is marked with a "/."

| C | APPLICANT SIGNATURE(S)

I/We hereby certify under penalty of law that ALL information contained herein is TRUE and CORRECT and that I/we understand that
any misstatement of fact is a misdemeanor of the third degree punishable by a fine up to $2,500 and/or imprisonment up to 1 year
(18 Pa.C.S. Section 4904[b]).

Owner/Lessor Signature Co-Owner Signature Date



https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/mv-70s.pdf
https://www.dmv.pa.gov

GENERAL INFORMATION REGARDING A VERTICAL MOTORCYCLE REGISTRATION PLATE

Fee required with this application is one check or money order in the amount of $26. (An additional $128 fee for personalization is
required.) Payment is to be made payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. DO NOT SEND CASH.

To replace a lost, stolen or defaced registration plate that is damaged, but not beyond recognition, complete and submit Form MV-44
"Application for Duplicate Regqistration Card or Replacement of Lost, Stolen or Defaced Registration Plate," along with a photograph or
tracing of the registration plate for identification purposes. A registration plate is considered to be defaced when the registration plate is
damaged by a specific incident such as a traffic accident, cutting, scraping or damaged caused by intense cleaning or harmful
chemicals. There is a fee of $13 to replace a defaced standard issue or specialty registration plate. If your registration plate is a
personalized registration plate, it will be replaced with the same configuration as before at no cost. Personalized registration plates that
are lost or stolen are not able to be replaced with the same configuration. If your personalized registration plate was lost or stolen, we
will replace it with the same style of registration plate, however, customers will be required to select a new configuration. The
registration plate will be produced with the new configuration if it is available. Please make sure to indicate that you are replacing a
defaced personalized registration plate on the front of the MV-44. If an immediate replacement registration plate is needed while waiting
for your replacement personalized registration plate, please complete and submit a second Form MV-44, and the replacement
registration plate fee. A standard issue registration plate will be issued until the replacement personalized, lost or stolen registration plate
can be provided. NOTE: The replacement personalized registration plate will take approximately 6-8 weeks to receive in the mail from
the time PennDOT receives and processes the application. Note: The replacement standard issue registration plate will take 7-10
business days to receive in the mail from the time PennDOT receives and processes the application.

To apply for a free registration plate, due to current plate being illegible, the vehicle owner should visit our website at www.dmv.pa.gov
and take Form MV-46, "Application to Replace an lllegible Registration Plate," to any official Pennsylvania inspection station for
verification that their registration plate is illegible OR have a law enforcement official verify the need for a replacement registration plate
on Form MV-46. The vehicle owner is then responsible for signing and returning the completed Form MV-46 to PennDOT in order to
receive a replacement registration plate free of charge. Your registration plate will be replaced with the next registration plate in the
series and with the same style of registration plate you are replacing. If your registration plate is currently personalized, PennDOT wiill
replace it with the same style and configuration as the registration plate you are replacing. If replacing your personalized registration
plate, please attach a photograph or tracing of the registration plate for identification purposes. If an immediate replacement
registration plate is needed while waiting for your illegible personalized registration plate, please complete and submit Form
MV-44, and the replacement registration plate fee. A standard issue registration plate will be issued until the replacement
personalized registration plate can be provided. NOTE: The replacement registration plate will take approximately 6-8 weeks to
receive in the mail from the time PennDOT receives and processes the application. NOTE: The replacement registration plate will
take approximately 7-10 business days to receive in the mail from the time PennDOT receives and processes the application. Please
allow 8-10 weeks for delivery of personalized plates.

To apply for a never received product, the vehicle owner should visit our website at www.dmv.pa.gov and complete Form MV-50,
"Application for Replacement of a Never Received Product.” By law, customers are entitled to a free reissuance of a product they never
received if an application for a never received product is submitted within 90 days of the original issuance date. If a customer submits
the application outside of the 90 days, the customer must submit $2 for each never received registration card requested and $13 for
each never received registration plate requested, along with this application.

Vertical motorcycle registration plates may only be displayed vertically.

NO REFUND of the fee will be issued when applicant cancels request after order is placed.

All telephone numbers will be held in confidence and used only in the event of a problem with your application.

Vertical motorcycle registration plates are issued in number sequence and may not be issued with a Person with Disability symbol.

This application, completed in full, along with a check or money order, should be mailed to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 1101 S. Front
Street, Harrisburg, PA 17104-2516.

To avoid possible problems with citations with your old registration plate, return it to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Return Tag Unit,
P.O. Box 68597, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8597.

IF PERSONALIZING YOUR REGISTRATION PLATE

Personalized vertical motorcycle registration plates may contain up to FIVE letters and numbers in combination. Only one space is
permitted as part of the available spaces for personalization. NOTE: No hyphens or additional special characters are available.

Please use capital letters and print clearly. When requesting a numeric character of zero, please show as "@" instead of the alpha
character "O." Since this is an electronically fillable form, after printing the form, please be sure any zero is marked with a "/."

PennDOT reserves the right to limit or reject requests.

The fee to personalize your registration plate is an additional $128, and the registration on your vehicle must be current in order for
PennDOT to process your request. The additional $128 fee covers the cost of your personalized registration plate order only and
will not renew your vehicle's registration. If your registration has expired or expires in the next three months, please include your
completed renewal application, Form MV-105, "Pennsylvania Registration Renewal Registration," or Form MV-140, “Request for
Registration,” and a separate check or money order in the amount of your registration renewal fee. Payment is to be made by
check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH.

To check personalized registration plate availability, visit PennDOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services website, www.dmv.pa.gov, and select
Plate Availability from the list of services under the Online Services heading. Personalized registration plates will not be reserved until
PennDOT receives payment and a completed application, and approves your requested registration plate configuration [number(s)
and/or letter(s)]. Please note that registration plate requests are processed on a first-come, first-served basis. Although a requested
registration plate configuration may show as being available on the website, it is possible that a request for the same registration plate
configuration may have already been submitted by another customer and may not be available when making application.

Personalized registration plates will be manufactured on the basis of this application. NO REFUND of the fee will be issued when an
applicant cancels a request after the order is placed with the manufacturer.

Visit us at www.dmv.pa.gov or call us at 717-412-5300. TTY callers — please dial 711 to reach us.


https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV Forms/mv-44.pdf
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV Forms/mv-44.pdf
http://www.dmv.pa.gov
http://www.dmv.pa.gov
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/mv-140.pdf
https://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BMV/BMV%20Forms/mv-140.pdf
http://www.dmv.pa.gov
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