
Title Number

Owner Name (Exactly as shown on original title)

Dealer’s Name

Street Address City State Zip Code

Dealer/Business Partner Identification Number

Vehicle Identification Number

 A   VEHICLE INFORMATION

 B   DEALER INFORMATION AND UNSWORN DECLARATION

 C   SATISFACTION OF LIEN AND LIENHOLDER UNSWORN DECLARATION

r r rLost r Stolen Defaced Other:

NOTE: This application may be used ONLY if the previous owner’s title was in the Pennsylvania dealer’s possession. 
 
Form MV-27A (WEEKLY NOTIFICATION OF DEALER ACQUISITION COVERING VEHICLES ACQUIRED FOR RESALE FROM ANOTHER 
DEALER OR MANUFACTURER) or Form MV-27B (WEEKLY NOTIFICATION OF DEALER ACQUISITION COVERING VEHICLES ACQUIRED FOR 
RESALE FROM AN INDIVIDUAL (NON-DEALER)) must always be attached. In addition, if the title is a 11-89 or later edition, a photocopy of 
the front and back of the title must be attached. If the title was issued prior to the 11-89 edition, a separate odometer statement must be 
attached. If a dealer is applying for title in the dealer’s name, and an active lien (recorded less than six years prior to the current date, or eight years 
prior to the current date for a truck-tractor or trailer weighing in excess of 10,000 pounds, or 20 years prior to the current date for a motor home or 
recreational trailer, or 30 years in the case of a mobile home or emergency vehicle) exists on the vehicle record, the dealer must contact the lienholder 
for completion of Section C. Lienholder’s signature must be self-certified. 

I, the undersigned Pennsylvania registered dealer, apply for duplicate certificate of title to the vehicle described above, and certify that the previous owner’s title was in my 
possession and notification was completed and filed with PennDOT as required.

Reason You Need Duplicate 
(Appropriate Block Must Be Checked)

MV-38D (3-25)

APPLICATION FOR DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE       
OF TITLE BY A PENNSYLVANIA REGISTERED 
DEALER WITH A DIN#                    FEE REQUIRED (The space above is for Department use only) 

Bureau of Motor Vehicles • PO Box 67470 • Harrisburg, PA 17106-7470

I/We declare under penalty of perjury under the law of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, that the foregoing is true and correct, and that application 
was made for the above product.  
Furthermore, I/we state that I/we have read and signed this application after its completion, and I/we swear or affirm that the statements made herein 
are true and correct, and that any statement made on or pursuant to this application is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. Section 4904 (relating to 
unsworn falsification), which include criminal prosecution and a term of imprisonment, the maximum of which may be one year [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(b)], or 
up to two years [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(a)]. In addition to any other penalty, a person convicted under this section shall be sentenced to pay a fine of at least 
$1,000 [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(d)]. 
 

Signed on the _____ day of _______________, _______________________  at ____________________________, _________________________.  
 
 
_______________________________________   _______________________________________   ______________________________________

Printed Name of Registered Dealer Signature of Registered Dealer

(county or other location, and state) (country)

Date of Satisfaction Name of Lienholder (as listed on the title)    Financial  Institution Number

Title of Authorized Signer

I/We declare under penalty of perjury under the law of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, that the foregoing is true and correct, and that application 
was made for the above product.  
Furthermore, I/we state that I/we have read and signed this application after its completion, and I/we swear or affirm that the statements made herein 
are true and correct, and that any statement made on or pursuant to this application is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. Section 4904 (relating to 
unsworn falsification), which include criminal prosecution and a term of imprisonment, the maximum of which may be one year [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(b)], or 
up to two years [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(a)]. In addition to any other penalty, a person convicted under this section shall be sentenced to pay a fine of at least 
$1,000 [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(d)]. 
 

Signed on the _____ day of _______________, _______________________  at ____________________________, _________________________.  
 
 
_______________________________________   _______________________________________   ______________________________________

Printed Name of Lien Holder Signature of Lien Holder

(county or other location, and state) (country)

Title of Authorized Signer

(Defaced title must 
be attached)

BMV Fees

u
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https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-27a.pdf
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-27b.pdf
https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-70s.pdf


INSTRUCTIONS 
• There is a fee for a duplicate certificate of title by a Pennsylvania registered dealer. 
• PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH. Make your check or money order payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 
• In lieu of Self-certification in Section B and C, if applicable, the applicant and lienholder's signature may be verified by an issuing agent, 

who is licensed as a vehicle dealer by the State Board of Vehicle Manufacturers, Dealers and Salespersons, or its employee. 
• Mail to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 67470, Harrisburg, PA  17106-7470. 
• NOTE: This form may require a fee. Please review the instruction above carefully prior to submitting the application. For a complete listing 

of motor vehicle fees, refer to Form MV-70S, "Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees," found on our website at  www.pa.gov/dmv or 
scan the QR code on the front of this application. 

Visit us at www.pa.gov/dmv or call us at 717-412-5300. TTY callers — please dial 711 to reach us.
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https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-70s.pdf
http://www.pa.gov/dmv
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