
List individual, business or corporation name and Taxpayer Identification No. 
under which you as an owner/operator of a farm last filed on your Pennsylvania 
or Federal Income Tax Forms. A PA Driver’s License No. may be used in lieu of 
a Social Security No. See reverse side for a listing of the tax forms that must be 
copied and attached to this application. 

List name and address as printed on current PA title or as listed on accompanying 
application for PA title.
Name(s) 

 A    APPLICANT(S) INFORMATION B   FARM/AGRICULTURAL BUSINESS INFORMATION

 C   VEHICLE AND INSURANCE INFORMATION

Street Address

City State Zip Code

Title Number Vehicle Identification Number 

Year Make Body Type Certificate Number Certificate Expiration Date GVWR 

Insurance Company Name Insurance Policy Number Policy Effective Date Policy Expiration Date

Initial Issuance of Certificate of Exemption - Complete Sections A through D and F. 

Renewal of Certificate of Exemption - Complete Sections A, C, D and F. 

Replacement of Certificate Card - Complete Sections A, C, E, F or G (if applicable) without Exemption Sticker. FEE Required.  

Replacement of Exemption Sticker - Complete Sections A, C, D, E, F or G (if applicable). FEE Required.

Name PA DL/Photo ID#/TIN

Identify the primary agricultural 
commodity produced by your farm.

CHECK ONE:         Initial Application for Certificate of Exemption  Renewal of Certificate of Exemption

 D   CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION TYPE INFORMATION

 E   IF APPLYING FOR REPLACEMENT CERTIFICATE CARD OR EXEMPTION STICKER, CHECK REASON.

Lost Stolen Defaced Never Received - If “Never Received” block is checked, SECTION G MUST BE COMPLETED.

 F   APPLICANT(S) CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE
I/We certify under penalty of law that all information listed above is true and correct and that I/we am/are a farm owner/operator. I/We further certify that the 
vehicle displaying the plate/biennial Certificate of Exemption is a farm vehicle and will be operated upon public highways as indicted on the reverse side of this 
application and used exclusively for agricultural purposes and will be driven only on highways between parts of one farm owned and operated by me/us;   between 
such a farm and a place of business or place of residence for the purposes of buying or selling agricultural commodities or supplies or for the inspection, repair 
or servicing of the vehicle, and further acknowledge that I/we may lose my/our operating privilege or vehicle exemption for failure to maintain financial responsibility 
(insurance) for the period of registration or exemption and attest to knowledge of all State and Federal Motor Carrier Safety laws and regulations. WARNING: 
Misstatement of fact is a misdemeanor of the third degree punishable by a fine up to $2,500 and/or imprisonment up to 1 year (18 Pa.C.S., Section 4904[b]). 

______________________________________   _____________________           ______________________________________   _____________________ 
Applicant Signature Date Co-Applicant Signature Date

r 
r 
r 
r

G UNSWORN DECLARATION AND APPLICANT SIGNATURE - Complete only if applicant is entitled to a free re-issuance because original Certificate Card or 
Exemption Sticker was never received in the mail and application is being made within 90 days of original issuance.

I/We declare under penalty of perjury under the law of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, that the foregoing is true and correct, and that application was made for the above 
product or that the items as indicated were never received in the mail.  
Furthermore, I/we state that I/we have read and signed this application after its completion, and I/we swear or affirm that the statements made herein are true and correct, and 
that any statement made on or pursuant to this application is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. Section 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification), which include criminal 
prosecution and a term of imprisonment, the maximum of which may be one year [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(b)], or up to two years [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(a)]. In addition to any other 
penalty, a person convicted under this section shall be sentenced to pay a fine of at least $1,000 [18 Pa.C.S. 4904(d)]. 

Signed on the _____ day of _______________, ___________________ at _______________________________, _________________________.
(county or other location, and state)

Signature of Applicant or Authorized Signer

Signature of Co-Applicant

Printed Name of Applicant or Authorized Signer

Printed Name of Co-Applicant

APPLICATION FOR FARM VEHICLE 2-YEAR 
CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION 
SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS AND IMPORTANT INFORMATION

(The space above is for Department use only) 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles • 1101 South Front Street • Harrisburg, PA 17104

MV-77A (3-25)

BMV Fees
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TYPE A - Vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating or combination weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less. FEE Required. NOTE: Type A vehicles do not require annual 
safety inspection and may only be driven upon highways from sunrise to sunset. 
TYPE B - Vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating or combination weight rating between 10,001 and 17,000 pounds. FEE Required. NOTE: Type B vehicles do not require 
annual safety inspection and may only be driven upon highways from sunrise to sunset. 
TYPE C - Vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating or combination weight rating of 17,001 pounds or greater. FEE Required. NOTE: Type C vehicles do not require annual  
safety inspection and may only be driven upon highways from sunrise to sunset. 
TYPE D - Vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating or combination weight rating of 17,001 pounds or greater. FEE Required. NOTE: Type D vehicles are subject to annual 
safety inspection and may be driven upon highways without any time restrictions.  
 



GENERAL INFORMATION 
NOTE: This form may require a fee. Please review the instructions below carefully prior to submitting the application. For a complete listing of motor vehicle 

fees, refer to Form MV-70S, "Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees," found on our website at  www.pa.gov/dmv  or scan the QR code on 
the front of this application. 

• A Certificate of Exemption is non-transferable. 
• A Farm Vehicle is defined as “a truck or truck tractor determined by the Department of Transportation to be used exclusively for agricultural purposes.” 
• List name and address as printed on current Pennsylvania Certificate of Title or as listed on accompanying application for Pennsylvania Certificate of 

Title in Section A and complete all other applicable sections of the application. Tax and fees are payable at the time of application for Pennsylvania 
Certificate of Title and registration. 

• A copy of your last current income tax return filing which demonstrates you are engaged commercially in farming, must be attached. The copy of the 
income tax return filing attached to Form MV-77A must show the business activity code or business activity description. Specific income information 
filed in the original return may be blacked out. If you are: 
- An individual - A copy of your PA Income Tax Form, Schedule F must be attached. 
- A partnership - A copy of your Federal Income Tax Form 1165 or 1165B or a copy of the Schedule F filed with the 1065 or 1065B must be attached. 
- A corporation - A copy of your Federal Income Tax Form 1120 or 1120A (Schedule K of the 1120 return or Part II of the 1120A return) must be attached. 
- A Subchapter S Corporation - A copy of your Federal Income Tax Form 1120S (Schedule B) must be attached. 

NOTE: *An applicant in their initial year of commercial farming shall submit a notarized affidavit stating that this is their first year of business; therefore, 
their last income tax return does not reflect that they are engaged commercially in farming. Upon the first Certificate of Exemption renewal, the 
owner will be required to provide the applicable income tax documents listed above to show that they are engaged in farming commercially. This 
proof must be obtained before the Certificate of Exemption can be renewed.  

• Mail completed application and fees to the address listed on the front of the application. Make check or money order payable to the “Commonwealth 
of Pennsylvania.” NOTE: If this application is submitted as an attachment to application for Pennsylvania Certificate of Title on Forms MV-1 or MV-
4ST, mail all documents to the address printed in the upper right margin of Forms MV-1 or MV-4ST. 

NOTE: A farm vehicle must be used exclusively for agricultural purposes and may not be used in other operations such as commercial trucking, logging, 
landscaping and transporting show horses. Agricultural purposes include produce, dairy, livestock and poultry farming, hay and field crop farming 
and orchard and nursery operations. 

 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR FARM VEHICLE 2-YEAR CERTIFICATE OF EXEMPTION 

 
1. Sections A, C, D and F must be completed in full.  
2. Sections A through D and F must be completed in full.  Section E need only be completed when applying for a replacement certificate of exemption, 

registration card or renewal sticker. NOTE:  Complete Section G only if the “never received” block is checked in Section E.  No fee is required if original 
certificate of exemption was lost in the mail and application is made within 90 days of original issuance. 

3. Type A: Used exclusively: 
  a. Upon farm(s) owned/operated by the vehicle owner on highways only between parts of a farm; 
  b. Between such farms located within 50 miles of each other; 
  c. Between a farm or farms and place of business within a 50 mile radius of the farm or farms for the purpose of buying/selling agricultural 

commodities/supplies, or 
  d. Between a farm or farms and a place of business within a 50 mile radius of the farm or farms for repairing or servicing the farm vehicle or trailer 

or semi-trailer being towed or hauled by the farm vehicle.  
 

Type B: Used exclusively: 
  a. Upon farm(s) owned/operated by the vehicle owner on highways only between parts of a farm; 
  b. Between such farms located within 25 miles of each other; 
  c. Between a farm or farms and place of business within a 25 mile radius of the farm or farms for the purpose of buying/selling agricultural 

commodities/supplies, or 
  d. Between a farm or farms and a place of business within a 50 mile radius of the farm or farms for repairing or servicing the farm vehicle or 

trailer or semitrailer being towed or hauled by the farm vehicle. 
 

Type C: Used exclusively: 
  a. Upon farm(s) owned/operated by the vehicle owner on highways only between parts of a farm; 
  b. Between such farms located within 10 miles of each other; 
  c. Between a farm or farms and place of business within a 10 mile radius of the farm or farms for the purpose of buying/selling agricultural 

commodities/supplies, or 
  d. Between a farm or farms and a place of business a 25 mile radius of the farm or farms for repairing or servicing the farm vehicle or 

trailer or semitrailer being towed or hauled by the farm vehicle. 
 

Type D: Used exclusively: 
  a. Upon farm(s) owned/operated by the vehicle owner on highways only between parts of a farm; 
  b. Between such farms located within 50 miles of each other; 
  c. Between a farm or farms and place of business within a 50 mile radius of the farm or farms for the purpose of buying/selling agricultural 

commodities/supplies, or 
  d. Between a farm or farms and a place of business within a 50 mile radius of the farm or farms for repairing or servicing the farm vehicle or 

trailer or semitrailer being towed or hauled by the farm vehicle.  
 
4. Farm vehicles being operated with a certificate of exemption cannot be used beyond the mileage or time restrictions listed in Section D on front of        

this application. 
5. The owner of the farm vehicle must maintain the minimum levels of liability insurance coverage on the vehicle. This can be by a vehicle insurance policy 

or under farm liability insurance coverage maintained generally by the owner. 

 Visit us at www.pa.gov/dmv or call us at 717-412-5300.TYY callers - please dial 711 to reach us. 
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https://www.pa.gov/content/dam/copapwp-pagov/en/penndot/documents/public/dvspubsforms/bmv/bmv-forms/mv-70s.pdf
http://www.pa.gov/dmv
http://www.pa.gov/dmv
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